The Signal

with Chris Kocher

A weekly entertainment show hosted by Chris Kocher, entertainment writer for the Press & Sun-Bulletin. Bringing you the best of Greater Binghamton's music and entertainment scene.


Great to be back on the air after a two-week absence.
No guests – just a bunch of great new music.

Nate Gross Band – “Rainy Night Blues” (Good Night for the Blues)
Sully & The Souljahs – “Best Damn Fool” (single)
Town Mountain – “One Drop in the Bottle” (New Freedom Blues)
Mark Walkup & Ross Sermons – “Stay Away from the Blues” (Looking Back at the Blues)
Kathy Mattea – “Mercy Now” (Pretty Bird)
Jim Wyly – “Nobody Lights My Heart Like You” (The Artisan)
Vanessa Peters – “Carnival Barker” (Foxhole Prayers)
Greg Hawks – “Things I Did Not Say” (I Think It’s Time)
Malcolm Holcombe – “Black Bitter Moon” (Come Hell or High Water)
John Prine – “When I Get to Heaven” (The Tree of Forgiveness)

Next week, I’ll assemble a panel of guests to preview RoberCon – Sci-Fi and Board Game Convention, which is coming up on Sept. 29-30.

Last three-hour show of the summer, so more blissfully random than usual.

Baby Gramps & Peter Stampfel – “Surfin’ Bird” (Outertainment)
Baby Gramps – “Cape Cod Girls” (Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys)
Malcolm Holcombe – “New Damnation Alley” (Come Hell or High Water)
Paul Sachs – “Full Detroit” (Full Detroit)
Ray Wylie Hubbard – “A. Enlightenment B. Endarkenment (Hint: There Is No C)” (A. Enlightenment B. Endarkenment (Hint: There Is No C))
Mike Doughty – “Unmarked Helicopters” (Circles Super Bon Bon …)
The Slambovian Circus of Dreams – “Living with God” (A Box of Everything)

David Bowie – “Lazarus” (Blackstar)
Spottiswoode & His Enemies – “Lazarus” (Building a Road)
Franz Ferdinand – “Take Me Out” (Franz Ferdinand)
Supergrass – “Brecon Beacons” (Life on Other Planets)
Blur – “Dan Abnormal” (The Great Escape)
Space – “Killswitch” (Give Me Your Future)
Pulp – “Disco 2000” (Different Class)

William Shatner – “Common People” (Has Been)
Jack Klugman & Tony Randall – “You’re So Vain” (dredged up from the depths of the internet by request from Eric Coker and in tribute to Neil Simon)
Richard Cheese & Lounge Against the Machine – “Loser” (Tuxicty)
Jimmy Durante – “I’m the Guy Who Found the Lost Chord” (September Song)

DeVotchKa – “Straight Shot” (This Night Falls Forever)
The Whispering Tree – “Heavy” (Invisible Forces)
Moors & McCumber – “La Da Da Da” (Acrobat)
David Roth – “How Many Ways” (Last Day on This Earth)
Susan J. Berman – “Leave the Hall Light On” (Nantucket Girl)
Ben Bedford – “Little Falcon” (The Hermit’s Spyglass)
Jonathon Long – “Pour Another Drink” (Jonathon Long)

Robyn Hitchcock – “Detective Mindhorn” (Robyn Hitchcock)
Vance Gilbert – “God Bless Everyone” (Bad Dog Buffet)
Ellis Paul – “Alice’s Champagne Palace” (American Jukebox Fables)
Leni Stern – “Simbo” (Africa)
Shelby Lynn & Allison Moorer – “Silver Wings” (Not Dark Yet)
Mary Gauthier – “Mercy Now” (Mercy Now)
Joe Crookston – “Riding the Train (Meter Maid Mix)” (Georgia I’m Here)

The Kinks – “Summer’s Gone” (Word of Mouth)

I won’t be on the air next week because I’ll be seeing Baby Gramps at Cyber Cafe West. After that, I’ll let you know where I end up on the fall schedule.

Malcolm Holcombe – “I Don’t Wanna Disappear” (Come Hell or High Water)
Malcolm Holcombe – “Gone By the Ol’ Sunrise” (Come Hell or High Water)
Paul Sachs – “Foxhole Prayer” (Full Detroit)
Paul Sachs – “People Are a Lot of Work” (Full Detroit)
John O’Connor – “Centralia Massacre” (We Ain’t Gonna Give It Back: Songs for the Labor Movement)
Tyler Grant & Robin Kessinger – “Boll Weevil” (Kanawha County Flatpicking)
Dennis Herrera – “Run with the Losers” (You Stole My Heart)
Greg Hawkes – “Nothing Matters Here Anymore” (I Think It’s Time)
Jim Wyly – “Nobody Lights My Heart Like You” (The Artisan)
The Roamies – “We Can Work It Out” (We Got Love)
Katey Laurel – “Safety” (Daydream)
David Robert King – “Taller than These Pines” (Idaho)
Merritt Gibson – “Cold War II” (Eyes on Us)
Banjo Nickaru & Western Scooches – “Don’t You Follow Me” (Get Us Out of Fearland)
The Young Novelists – “In City & Country” (In City & Country)
Mary Chapin Carpenter – “The Moon and St. Christopher” (Sometimes Just the Sky)
Chris Smither – “Down to the Sound” (Call Me Lucky)
Rebekah Long – “Welcome Me Back Home” (Run Away)
Mary Gauthier – “Iraq” (Rifles & Rosary Beads)
Mary Gauthier – “Stronger Together” (Rifles & Rosary Beads)
Rod Abernathy – “Simple and True” (The Man I’m Supposed to Be)
Wes Collins – “I Love You Guys” (Welcome to the Ether)
Brooks Williams – “Gambling Man” (Lucky Star)
Joe Rollin Porter – “Black Jack Davy” (Take This Hammer)
Kim Moberg – “Be the Light” (Above Ground)
Alan Barnosky – “I Heart Mountains” (Old Freight)
Low Lily – “Brothers in Arms” (10,000 Days Like These)
Dana Fuchs – “Ready to Rise” (Love Lives On)
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades – “American Dream” (The Ode)
Ry Cooder – “Straight Street” (The Prodigal Son)
Hadley McCall Thackston – “Butterfly” (Hadley McCall Thackston)
Sparrow Blue – “Two Steppin’” (Rabbit in the Moon)
B – “You Can’t Take This Away from Me” (Ghosts Beneath My Skin)
Fink Marxer Gleaves – “Moonshine” (Shout & Shine)
Mikaela Davis – “Little Bird” (Delivery)
Big Little Lions – “Our Turn” (Alive and Well)
Zoe Speaks – “There’s a Hole Where Your Soul’s Supposed to Be” (Wings)
Susan Shann – “The Final Word (is Gonna Be Love)” (Reckless Abandon)

When Is It On?

Fall 2018

You can catch this show on
Wednesdays from 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM.

Upcoming Shows

September 26 @ 6:30 PM